To: Rt Hon Winston Peters, Minister for Disarmament and Arms Control

CC: Professor Juliet Gerrard (Chief Scientific Advisor to the Prime Minister)

RE: AN INTERNATIONAL BAN ON AUTONOMOUS WEAPON SYSTEMS

Dear Minister,

We, the undersigned, call on the New Zealand government to take a clear stand against weaponizing AI. Lethal autonomous weapons systems (LAWS) that remove *meaningful human control* from determining the legitimacy of targets and applying lethal force sit on the wrong side of a clear moral line.

Such weapons, if developed, will permit war to be fought with a merciless fury and blazing speed impossible for humans to survive. The appalling consequence is that machines—not people—will determine who lives and dies. We oppose such uses of AI.

In particular, as technical experts, we are skeptical of the argument made by the New Zealand delegation at the UN meetings discussing LAWS, that "meaningful human control could be ensured through a human *on* the loop applied through programming constraints governing target selection and engagement, and an ability to disengage the system if required". Often, the pace of engagement prevents meaningful human control from being achieved by providing an "abort" button to a human. This is not just a matter of speed but also of supervision. Human factors research shows that humans struggle to monitor autonomous systems adequately over time. Adding programming constraints on target selection and engagement does not change this.

Therefore, we ask New Zealand to announce its support for a ban on LAWS at the upcoming UN meeting in late March and work to negotiate a treaty instrument that achieves this. New Zealand has a long and proud history of moral leadership in this area, as seen for instance in its strong position against nuclear weapons and its role in the Convention on Cluster Munitions (CCM). We hope the current New Zealand government can add to this proud legacy.

Professor Michael Winikoff (Department of Information Science, University of Otago)

Professor Stephen Cranefield (Department of Information Science, University of Otago)

Associate Professor Ali Knott (Department of Computer Science, University of Otago)

Associate Professor Ben Wooliscroft (Department of Marketing, University of Otago)

Professor Brendan McCane (Department of Computer Science, University of Otago)

Dr Brendon Woodford (Department of Information Science, University of Otago)

Dr Lincoln C. Wood (Department of Management, University of Otago)

Professor Holger Regenbrecht (Department of Information Science, University of Otago)

Professor Michael D. Myers (Department of Information Systems and Operations Management, University of Auckland)

Dr Katharina Ruckstuhl (Associate Dean Māori, Dean's Office, Business School, University of Otago)

Associate Professor Tiru Arthanari (Department of Information Systems and Operations Management, University of Auckland)

Dr Emily Keddell (Social and Community Work, University of Otago)

Associate Professor Stephen C. Wingreen (Department of Accounting and Information Systems, University of Canterbury)

Professor Nikola Kasabov FIEEE FRSNZ (Department of Computer Science, Auckland University of Technology)

Dr Stuart Marshall (School of Engineering and Computer Science, Victoria University of Wellington)

Professor Antonija (Tanja) Mitrovic (Department of Computer Science and Software Engineering, University of Canterbury)

Professor Rob Lindeman (Director, Human Interface Technology Lab NZ, University of Canterbury)

Dr Stefanie Zollmann (Department of Computer Science, University of Otago)

Associate Professor Harminder Singh (Department of Business Information Systems, Auckland University of Technology)

Professor Lisa Ellis (Director Philosophy, Politics and Economics Programme, University of Otago)

Professor John McMillan (Bioethics Centre, University of Otago)

Associate Professor Marcus Frean (School of Engineering and Computer Science, Victoria University of Wellington)

Associate Professor Ian Watson (School of Computer Science, University of Auckland)

Professor Hans Guesgen (Chair in Computer Science, School of Fundamental Sciences, Massey University)

Dr David J. Pearce (School of Engineering and Computer Science, Victoria University of Wellington)

Associate Professor Tony Savarimuthu (Department of Information Science, University of Otago)

Mark Crook-Rumsey (PhD candidate, Department of Computer Science, Auckland University of Technology)

Professor Robert Amor (School of Computer Science, University of Auckland)

Associate Professor Thomas Kühne (School of Engineering and Computer Science, Victoria University of Wellington)

Associate Professor Ravi Sharma (Department of Accounting and Information Systems, University of Canterbury)

Professor Andy Cockburn (Department of Computer Science and Software Engineering, University of Canterbury)

Dr Peter Andreae (School of Engineering and Computer Science, Victoria University of Wellington)

Dr Matt Boyd (health and technology researcher, Adapt Research Ltd)

Associate Professor Sara Walton (Department of Management, University of Otago)

Dr Ulrich Speidel (School of Computer Science, University of Auckland)

Professor Stephen MacDonell (Auckland University of Technology, and Department of Information Science, University of Otago)

Associate Professor Mark Sagar (University of Auckland, and CEO Soul Machines)

Rhys Compton (student at Faculty of Computing and Mathematical Science, University of Waikato).

Dr Bob Durrant (Department of Mathematics and Statistics, University of Waikato)

Dr Steven Mills (Department of Computer Science, University of Otago)

Professor Eibe Frank (Department of Computer Science, University of Waikato)

Professor Clark Thomborson (School of Computer Science, University of Auckland)

Professor Ian H. Witten FRSNZ MACM (Department of Computer Science, University of Waikato)

Dr Kourosh Neshatian (Department of Computer Science and Software Engineering, University of Canterbury)

Dr. Pan Zheng (Department of Accounting and Information Systems, University of Canterbury)

John Reilly M. Pospos (Senior cloud engineer, Soul Machines)

Peter Reutemann (Department of Computer Science, University of Waikato)

Anne Wendt (PhD student, Department of Computer Science, Auckland University of Technology)

Associate Professor David Eyers (Department of Computer Science, University of Otago)

Emeritus Professor Douglas S. Bridges (Professor Emeritus of Pure Mathematics, The University of Canterbury)

Dr Janet Toland (School of Information Management, Victoria University of Wellington)

Professor Alex Richter (School of Information Management, Victoria University of Wellington)

Associate Professor Markus Luczak-Roesch (School of Information Management, Victoria University of Wellington)

Dr Jesse David Dinneen (School of Information Management, Victoria University of Wellington)

Dr Cathal Doyle (School of Information Management, University of Wellington)

Emeritus Professor Martin Purvis (Department of Information Science, University of Otago)

Kaushalya Kumarasinghe (PhD student, Department of Computer Science, Auckland University of Technology)

Associate Professor Peter A. Whigham (Department of Information Science, University of Otago)

Associate Professor Alex Potanin (School of Engineering and Computer Science, Victoria University of Wellington)

Tom Barraclough (legal expert, director and researcher at Brainbox)

Curtis Barnes (legal expert, director and researcher at Brainbox)